Researchers and partner institutions

Research Team

Prof Barbara Bolt, Associate Dean of Research, The VCA and MCM, The University of Melbourne.

A/Prof Kate MacNeill, Program Director, Arts and Cultural Management, School of Culture and Communication, The University of Melbourne.

Megan McPherson, Project Manager, Victorian College of 
the Arts, The University of Melbourne.

A/Prof Pia Ednie-Brown, Director, Practice Research Symposium Australia, School of Architecture and Design, RMIT University.

Dr Carole Wilson, Honours Leader & HDR Co-ordinator in Creative Arts, School of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences, Faculty of Education and Arts, Federation University Australia.

Professor Sarah Miller, Professor of Performance and Head: School of the Arts, English and Media, Faculty of Law, Humanities and the Arts, University of Wollongong.

Professor Estelle Barrett, Research and HDR Coordinator Institute of Koorie Education (IKE), Deakin University.

Professor Marie Sierra, Deputy Dean & Head of School, UNSW Art & Design, UNSW.

Partner institutions

The lead university is University of Melbourne in partnership with RMIT University, Federation University Australia, Wollongong University, Deakin University and UNSW.

Lead University:



UNSW             DeakinIKE         FederationUni_PrimaryLogo_A4Suite_CMYK


RMIT_POS_CMYK - Copy [Converted]              woolingong-logo

Reference Group for iDARE

Professor Su Baker, Chair, Deans and Directors of Creative Arts (DDCA), Director of the Victorian College of Art, University of Melbourne;

Mr Oron Catts, Director SymbioticA, The Centre of Excellence in Biological Arts, School of Anatomy, Physiology and Human Biology, The University of Western Australia;

Professor Jonathan Holmes, OLT Discipline Scholar, University of Tasmania;

Professor Rolf Hughes, Professor in Artistic Research and Head of Research, Stockholm University of the Arts;

Professor Welby Ings, Professor Graphic Design, School of Art & Design, AUT University Auckland;

Professor Johnny Golding, Professor of Philosophy & Fine Art, Director, Centre for Fine Art Research (CFAR), Birmingham Institute of Art & Design (BIAD-BCU);

Dr Sandy O’Sullivan, Director, Centre for Collaborative First Nations’ Research Division of Higher Education and Research Batchelor Institute;

Kate Murphy Manager, Human Research Ethics, Secretary, Central HREC, University of Melbourne;

Associate Professor Barbara Polus, Chair, Human Research Ethics Sub-committee, RMIT;

Associate Professor Deborah Warr, Australian Research Council Future Fellow, McCaughey VicHealth Centre for Community Wellbeing, Academic Centre for Health Equity, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, University of Melbourne;

Professor Diane Zeeuw, Chair of Visual and Critical Studies, Kendall College of Art and Design, Ferris State University (KCAD).


Evaluator for the project

Dr Erich von Dietze, Research Ethics and Integrity, Murdoch University.